Growth Mindset

A while ago, I wrote about Flow in learning.  “Flow” is the mental state of engagement one achieves by challenging themselves to reach a goal.  I was, and still am concerned, because I have noticed that many of my students do not have the emotional stamina and frustration tolerance to reach this state of flow.

Lately, I’ve been reading a  lot about Growth Mindset, which I think will help my students reframe their thinking and push past their frustration levels.  At least I hope it will!

It’s no secret that today’s children are wired differently!   With the ubiquitous web, (and, IMHO, indulgent parenting techniques, but that’s a whole other story) we have a whole generation of children that have low frustration tolerance and a busted sense of delayed gratification.

Teaching them things like

can help alleviate some of these issues.

growth

I’m going to be working on this in the upcoming school year and I will report back on my findings.

Have YOU taught any of these skills to your students?  How did it go?  Did you find that it helped your students achieve better?

Posted on September 27, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

